Freeman voted Babe Ruth Award as postseason MVP by NY BBWAA

Atlanta Braves' Freddie Freeman celebrates his home run during the seventh inning in Game 6 of...
Atlanta Braves' Freddie Freeman celebrates his home run during the seventh inning in Game 6 of baseball's World Series between the Houston Astros and the Atlanta Braves Tuesday, Nov. 2, 2021, in Houston.(AP Photo/Eric Gay)(Eric Gay | AP)
Updated: Nov. 6, 2021 at 4:42 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

NEW YORK (AP) — Atlanta first baseman Freddie Freeman has won the Babe Ruth award as postseason MVP in a vote by the New York chapter of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Freeman hit .304 with five homers and 11 RBIs in 16 postseason games, helping the Braves win their first World Series title since 1995.

Voting was held Friday and announced Saturday.

Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge was voted Sid Mercer/Dick Young New York Player of the Year after leading his team with a .287 average, 39 homers and 98 RBIs.

Former Yankees shortstop and current Miami Marlins CEO Derek Jeter was voted the Joe DiMaggio Toast of the Town Award to celebrate his induction to the Hall of Fame.

Individuals from the 1992 movie “A League of Their Own” about the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League will receive the Willie, Mickey & the Duke Award.

Mike Baxter, whose seventh-inning catch of Yadier Molina’s drive as he sprinted and slammed into the left-field wall preserved the first no-hitter in Mets’ history by Johan Santana against St. Louis on June 1, 2012, was voted the Casey Stengel You Could Look It Up Award.

Miami’s Kim Ng, the first woman to become a major league general manager, won the Arthur & Milton Richman You Gotta Have Heart Award.

Chicago Cubs scout Billy Blitzer, who lives in New York, was voted the William J. Slocum/Jack Lang Award for Long & Meritorious Service.

Mets first baseman Pete Alonso was voted the Joan Payson/Shannon Forde Award for Community Service, and Yankees catcher Kyle Higashioka was selected to receive the Ben Epstein/Dan Castellano Good Guy Award


More AP MLB: and

Copyright 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.