Poll results for Tuesday’s runoff election in Georgia

Lieutenant governor, secretary of state, key Congressional nominations on the ballot
Georgia's Runoff Election: Who's in the race?
Published: May. 31, 2022 at 12:27 PM EDT|Updated: Jun. 20, 2022 at 3:25 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ATLANTA, Ga. (CBS46) - The polls closed at 7 p.m. in Georgia with the exception of DeKalb County where they stayed open until 7:15 because of a delay in their opening.



Georgia’s next big election is a runoff set for Tuesday and the Democratic challengers for four of the state’s top constitutional offices will be decided, along with several congressional runoffs that could sway Capitol Hill’s balance of political power.

Under Georgia law, if no candidate breaks 50% in an election, the top two vote-getters are in a runoff.

RELATED: What to expect in Kemp vs. Abrams, round two

Under voter reforms passed in 2021, Georgia’s runoffs are now set for four weeks after primary election Day. Early voting for the June 21 runoff began June 13; the last day to submit an absentee ballot for the runoff was June 10.

Here is a look at who’s on the ballot in metro Atlanta:

Democratic lieutenant governor’s runoff: Kwanza Hall and Charlie Bailey. Hall is a former Atlanta city councilman and U.S. congressman, while Bailey, an attorney, is seeking his first elected office. The winner will face Republican state Sen. Burt Jones, who won his GOP primary on May 24. This fall’s race is for an open seat, as Republican incumbent Geoff Duncan is not seeking reelection.

Democratic secretary of state runoff: Dee Dawkins-Haigler and Bee Nguyen. Dawkins-Haigler is a former state lawmaker, while Nguyen is a current member of the state House and has the endorsement of Democratic gubernatorial nominee Stacey Abrams. The winner will face incumbent Republican Brad Raffensperger, who won his GOP primary without a runoff in a crowded contest.

Democratic insurance commissioner’s runoff: Janice Laws Robinson and Raphael Baker. The winner will face Republican incumbent John King in November.

Democratic labor commissioner’s runoff: William Boddie and Nicole Horn. The winner will meet Bruce Thomson, who won his GOP primary on May 24.

Republican 6th congressional district runoff: Jake Evans and Rich McCormick. The winner will face Democrat Bob Christian.

Republican 7th congressional district runoff: Michael Corbin and Mark Gonsalves. The winner will face Democrat Lucy McBath this fall in this newly drawn district.

Republican 10th congressional district runoff: Mike Collins and Vernon Jones. Democrat Michael Ford awaits the winner of this runoff in November.

Can I still register to vote?

No, the deadline to register to vote in the Georgia General Runoff Election is April 25. However, you can still vote in Georgia’s General Election set to be held in November and certain runoff races. To register to vote for future elections, click here.

Where should I go to vote?

Residents planning to vote are required to cast their ballot at their designated polling location. The location will vary by the county under which you are registered to vote. To check where your designated voting location is, click here and enter your First Initial, Last Name, County and Date of Birth. You can also find out where your polling location is by calling your county’s Board of Registrar’s Office.

What do I need to bring with me to vote?

Valid photo ID such as a driver’s license, passport or voter identification card.

Avoid wearing clothing that shows support for a political candidate, shows the name of the candidate or bears a slogan/saying that promotes your candidate. Georgia state law bans campaigning within 150 feet of a polling location, which includes the attire you wear.

What if I have a problem at the polls?

If you encounter a problem at the polls, please contact your County Board of Registrar’s Office or the Georgia Secretary of State. Call the Secretary of State at 404-656-2871 (in metro Atlanta) or 877-725-9797 (elsewhere in Georgia) to report an issue. You can also submit a complaint online to the Secretary of State Elections Division.

For more information, visit the Fulton Elections website here or download the free Fulton Votes mobile app.

County-by-county voter information

Athens-Clarke County

Banks County

Bartow County

Barrow County

Butts County

Carroll County

Catoosa County

Cherokee County

Clayton County

Cobb County

Coweta County

Dade County

Dawson County

DeKalb County

Douglas County

Fayette County

Fannin County

Floyd County

Forsyth County

Fulton County

Gilmer County

Gordon County

Greene County

Gwinnett County

Habersham County

Hall County

Heard County

Henry County

Lamar County

Jackson County

Monroe County

Morgan County

Murray County

Newton County

Oconee County

Oglethorpe County

Paulding County

Putnam County

Rockdale County

Spalding County

Troup County

Walker County

Walton County

Whitfield County

Union County