Stacey sweeps | Abrams’ clout shows in Tuesday’s Democratic runoffs

Two Trump-backed congressional hopefuls lose metro Atlanta district runoffs
Georgia's Runoff Election: Who's in the race?
Published: Jun. 22, 2022 at 6:40 AM EDT|Updated: Jun. 22, 2022 at 9:14 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ATLANTA, Ga. (CBS46) - Democratic candidates endorsed by gubernatorial hopeful Stacey Abrams won their runoffs on Tuesday, while two of former President Donald Trump’s preferred contenders lost their congressional GOP bids.


Abrams now has a unified ticket of down-ballot candidates to support her bid to unseat incumbent GOP Gov. Brian Kemp on Nov. 8.

Here are the results of the Democratic statewide runoffs:

Lieutenant governor’s runoff

Attorney Charlie Bailey defeated former congressman and Atlanta city councilor Kwanza Hall, setting up a race against GOP nominee Burt Jones this fall.

RELATED: Abrams endorses Bailey, Nguyen, Boddie in Democratic runoffs

Jones, who has Trump’s endorsement, won a crowded GOP primary last month.

Secretary of state runoff

Bee Nguyen, who represents Abrams’ former House district in the General Assembly, won Tuesday’s runoff against Dee Dawkins-Haigler, herself a former state lawmaker.

RELATED: Trump’s claims of Georgia election fraud were false, secretary of state testifies

Nguyen will face GOP incumbent Brad Raffensperger, who testified Tuesday in the Jan. 6 congressional committee investigating the Jan. 6, 2021, Capitol attack. Raffensperger also defeated several GOP contenders for his job in May.

Labor commissioner runoff

William Boddie defeated Nicole Horn in this race.

Boddie, who has Abrams’ endorsement, will Republican Bruce Thomson on Nov. 8. Thomson won his party’s labor commissioner primary on May 24.

RELATED: Why does Georgia have so many counties?

Labor commissioner was the last statewide constitutional office held by a Democrat in Georgia. Current DeKalb CEO Michael Thurmond held the seat from 1999 to 2011.

Insurance commissioner runoff

Janice Laws Robinson defeated Raphael Baker on Tuesday. Robinson will face Republican incumbent John King in November.

King, an American military officer, was appointed by Gov. Brian Kemp as commissioner on July 1, 2019, replacing Jim Beck.

Abrams did not make an endorsement in this race.

RELATED: Democrats, GOP follow similar paths to Georgia political power

On Tuesday night, Abrams issued a statement that read, “Charlie Bailey, Bee Nguyen and William Boddie are exemplary leaders who share a deep commitment to serving all Georgians. I congratulate them on their runoff victories and look forward to working alongside them, Janice Laws Robinson and the entire Democratic ticket to build One Georgia where everyone has the opportunity to thrive. I also offer my gratitude to those candidates who stepped up to serve our state.”

At the national level, Georgia’s U.S. Senate race this fall was decided back in late May. UGA football legend Herschel Walker won the GOP U.S. Senate nomination, far outpacing a crowded primary. U.S. Sen. Raphael Warnock easily won the Democratic primary, and will face Walker in his quest to be elected to a full, six-year Senate term.

Here are the results of the runoffs in metro Atlanta’s congressional districts:

Republican 6th district runoff

Rich McCormick, an emergency room physician, defeated Jake Evans, who had hoped to use a Monday night Trump-hosted tele-rally to propel him to victory in this major metro Atlanta congressional district.

McCormick will face Democrat Bob Christian in November in a campaign for this open seat.

The 6th district is currently represented in Congress by Democratic incumbent Lucy McBath. However, after the 2020 census, McBath was drawn into a revamped, neighboring 7th district last year by Georgia’s GOP-led General Assembly.

McBath defeated fellow Democrat Carolyn Bourdeaux in their May 24 primary. Bourdeaux was the 7th district’s incumbent.

The district includes many of metro Atlanta’s northern suburbs, including the cities of Brookhaven, Chamblee, Doraville, Roswell, Johns Creek, Sandy Springs, Milton, Mountain Park, Dunwoody, Tucker, Alpharetta and Marietta.

Republican 7th district runoff

Mark Gonsalves grabbed an early lead and never relinquished it on his way to a win over Michael Corbin.

Gonsalves will face McBath after the Democrat won her May primary against Bourdeaux.

The district covers much of Gwinnett and part of Forsyth counties, and includes Peachtree Corners, Duluth, Snellville, Buford, Suwanee, Lawrenceville, Cumming and Norcross.

10th district runoff

Mike Collins defeated Vernon Jones in the GOP runoff, while Tabitha Johnson-Green defeated Jessica Alison Fore in the Democratic runoff. Jones was endorsed by Trump several months ago.

The district’s incumbent is U.S. Rep. Jody Hice. However, Hice vacated the seat to launch an ultimately unsuccessful challenge for Georgia’s secretary of state, held by Raffensperger.

The 10th district is drawn in Georgia’s eastern region, and includes the cities of Athens, Jackson, Milledgeville, Monroe, Winder, Eatonton and Wrightsville, among others.

On Wednesday morning, Republican National Committee chair Ronna McDaniel issued a statement that read, in part, “Mark Gonsalves, Rich McCormick, and Mike Collins will hold the Biden administration accountable when it comes to parents’ rights in education, out of control inflation, and a surging border crisis that is hurting Georgia families. Peach State voters know Republican policies are the only solution to these Democrat failures.”