2022 AJC Peachtree Road Race Results

Rhonex Kipruto won the men’s elite race and Senbere Teferi won the women’s elite race.
Published: Jul. 4, 2022 at 11:44 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ATLANTA, Ga. (CBS46) - The 53rd Running of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution Peachtree Road Race heralded the iconic event’s return to its traditional one-day July 4 format for the first time since 2019.

Almost 50,000 runners and walkers took part in the race in person or virtually, according to a press release.

Peachtree Road Race underway

Winning the women’s footrace was Senbere Teferi of Ethiopia, barely edging Kenya’s Irine Cheptai at the tape. Both women were given the time of 30:49, tied for the fourth-fastest time in race history. Becoming a two-time winner of the Peachtree in the men’s footrace was Rhonex Kipruto of Kenya, who broke the tape in the men’s open division in 27:26, the fifth-fastest time since the Peachtree began in 1970.

In the Shepherd Center Wheelchair Division, Daniel Romanchuk won for the fifth consecutive year, in 18:38, tied for third-fastest in Peachtree history. But it was women’s wheelchair winner Susannah Scaroni who took home the entire $53,000 bonus – offered by organizers in honor of the race’s 53rd Running – for her winning time of 21:14, which broke the course record by 14 seconds. Had any of the others also broken the record, the bonus would have been split; instead, it was the biggest payday of Scaroni’s career.

In the women’s footrace, Kenya’s Mary Munanu pushed the pace for the first two miles, with Ethiopian Biruktayit Degefa Eshetu taking over the next mile. The large pack went through 5K in 15:10, with Brigid Kosgei – the 2019 winner and course record-holder – asserting herself soon after. Going with her were Teferi, Cheptai and Rosemary Wanjiru; Wanjiru would soon drop back by the turn onto 10th Street toward the finish, but Fancy Chemutai would briefly rejoin the group. In a fierce sprint to the finish, Teferi prevailed over Cheptai, with Kosgei third in 30:57.

The top American was Annie Frisbie, 10th, in 32:22.

Kipruto took command of the race from the outset, leading a pack through the first mile in 4:38 and whittling the contenders down to four by 5K (13:27) – himself, Leonard Barsoton, Mathew Kimeli and Kibowatt Kandie. He would open up a lead again just before the four-mile mark, and go on to win by 8 seconds, with Kandie runner-up in 27:34 (the sixth-fastest time ever here) and Jemal Yimer third in 27:49.

The day’s winners were greeted on the awards stage by Atlanta Mayor Andre Dickens, who experienced the Peachtree for the first time as Mayor. And while a broken foot prevented him from running, he was able to welcome participants and serve as official starter of Wave A before his duties at the finish line.

Finishing as top American and fifth overall in his debut at the distance was Conner Mantz, whose time of 28:04 was just one second shy of the fastest time ever run by an American here (Craig Virgin, in 1981).

The top Georgian finishers were 18-year-old Edward Blaha of Atlanta, a recent Atlanta Track Club All-Metro honoree and Pace Academy graduate, in 31:11, 24th overall, and 24-year-old Emma Grace Hurley of Brookhaven, Georgia, and Atlanta Track Club Elite, 14th, in 33:36.

Bill Thorn, 91, became the only person to finish every Atlanta Journal-Constitution Peachtree Road Race since the event began in 1970. Thorn, 91, did the race virtually. The oldest finisher was 97-year-old Betty Lindberg, who finished in 2:37:53.

In another return to the race’s beloved traditions, the T-shirt design wasn’t revealed until the first runner crossed the finish line. Winning the annual design contest was Tony Lombardo of Tallahassee, Florida, a former resident of Johns Creek, with his submission titled “Sweet Americana.”

“It’s a great feeling to be a part of something bigger than ourselves, and that much sweeter when it’s a part of the world’s largest 10K,” he said.

Click here for a list of full results.

Several CBS46 employees also participated in the race.