Clayton County sheriff’s race to replace Victor Hill heads to a runoff

Voters also made a decision on a local option sales tax to be used for county schools.
Results of Tuesday's special election
Published: Mar. 21, 2023 at 10:12 PM EDT|Updated: Mar. 22, 2023 at 1:09 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CLAYTON COUNTY, Ga. (Atlanta News First) - Levon Allen and Clarence Cox are headed to an April 18 runoff to see who will replace Victor Hill as Clayton County sheriff.

Attorneys representing Hill have filed an appeal of his October conviction. Hill was sentenced to 18 months in federal prison, followed by six years of supervised release for violating the civil rights of six detainees at the Clayton County jail by ordering them strapped into restraint chairs for hours on end.

Clayton County voters also approved a $434 million SPLOST to be used for the local school district.

State House District 75 voters elected Eric W. Bell II to replace the retiring Mike Glandon.

Donya Sartor appears has won the race for Jonesboro mayor. Alfred Dixon and Don Dixon also won the two at-large city council seats.

Atlanta News First and Atlanta News First+ provide you with the latest news, headlines and insights as Georgia continues its role at the forefront of the nation’s political scene.