Mableton election results: mayor’s race, 3 council seats head for runoff

Voters in Cobb County’s newest city went to the polls on Tuesday to vote in an historic election.
Several special elections were held throughout metro Atlanta on Tuesday, including in the new city of Mableton.
Published: Mar. 21, 2023 at 10:04 PM EDT|Updated: Mar. 22, 2023 at 9:12 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MABLETON, Ga. (Atlanta News First) - The new city of Mableton held elections Tuesday for its first slate of constitutional officers: a mayor and six city council members.

For mayor, Michael Owens and Aaron Carman are headed to an April 18 runoff.

In city council races:

  • Ron Davis was elected in district one.
  • Monica Evette Delancy and Dami Oladapo are headed to a runoff in district two.
  • Keisha Jeffcoat and Yashica Marshall are headed to a runoff in district three.
  • Patricia Auch was elected in district four.
  • Cheryl David and T.J. Ferguson are headed to a runoff in district five.
  • Debora Herndon was elected in district six.

Voters approved a split from Cobb County in the November 2022 election, wanting more autonomy over zoning and development in the Mableton area.

Atlanta News First and Atlanta News First+ provide you with the latest news, headlines and insights as Georgia continues its role at the forefront of the nation’s political scene.